Just the FAQs: Background Checks, Clearances and Mandated Reporter Training for Hope Academy Teaching Artists, Staff and Volunteers

Comments Off on Just the FAQs: Background Checks, Clearances and Mandated Reporter Training for Hope Academy Teaching Artists, Staff and Volunteers

Hope Academy teaching artists, staff and volunteers are required to submit verification of required clearances and a certificate of completion for the online mandated reporter training prior to the beginning of the fall term.

Clearances that have been obtained in Pennsylvania within the past 60 months are acceptable and considered “current.”

1.      Background Check Requirements Under the New Law 

All paid employees and volunteers who have lived in Pennsylvania for at least 10 years must have their Child Abuse History Clearance (Act 33) and Criminal Record Check Clearance (Act 34). These clearances are valid for 60 months and can be submitted, paid for and processed online. The total cost for these two clearances is $16 for paid staff, and free for volunteers.

All paid employees and volunteers who have lived in Pennsylvania for less than 10 years must have their Child Abuse History Clearance (Act 33) and Criminal Record Check Clearance (Act 34) plus an FBI Fingerprint Clearance (Act 114). All three clearances are valid for 60 months; the first two can be submitted, paid for and processed online; the FBI Fingerprint Clearance requires an online registration followed by an in-person appearance for digital fingerprinting. The total cost for these clearances is $40.25 for paid staff, and $24.24 for volunteers.

1A.      Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance (Act 33)

Fee for Teaching Artists and Staff – $8     Fee for Volunteers – Free

Log into the Child Welfare Information Solution (CWIS) self-service portal. In the “Welcome to the Child Welfare Portal” click on “Create A New Individual Account” and follow the prompts to set up an account which will allow you to request the child-abuse clearances. You will need an email address to create an account and a credit or debit card for payment. Applicants will receive their results through an automated system and will be able to view and print their results online. This could take up to 14 days.

1B.      Pennsylvania Criminal Record Check (Act 34)

Fee for Teaching Artists and Staff – $8     Fee for Volunteers – Free

Log into Pennsylvania Access to Criminal History website . Click on “Submit a New Record Check” (mid-page). You will then need to “accept terms” and then complete the on-line form. A credit card is required to cover the $8 fee. In most instances, you should receive an immediate result if no criminal record exists.

1C.      Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) Fingerprint Clearance (Act 114)

Required for paid staff and volunteers who have lived in Pennsylvania for less than 10 years.

Fee: $24.25 (Department of Education)

Log into COGENT SYSTEMS

  • Choose “Department of Education”
  • Payment can be made by credit or debit card. You will need to bring confirmation of payment to the fingerprint session. OR you may pay with a money order payable to Cogent Systems at the fingerprint site.
  • Print out the registration number to take with you to the fingerprint site.
  • Go to one of the approved fingerprint centers. A complete list of 
fingerprinting centers is available on the Cogent Systems website. The 
closest one to us is the UPS Store in Oakland:

OAKLAND – UPS Store #5971      (412) 621-6261
3945 Forbes Ave 
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Forbes Ave (at the University of Pittsburgh) between S Bouquet Street and Bigelow Blvd.
Hours for fingerprinting (call before you go to confirm):
Monday – Thursday 10:00am to 6:00pm
Saturday 11:00am to 3:00pm

  • Call before you go to make sure that someone is there to do the 
fingerprinting
  • Remember to take a current/valid/unexpired picture identification (driver’s 
license, state photo ID or passport), as well as the registration number and confirmation of payment you received when you registered online.
  • Your results will be mailed to you and your registration number can be used to look up and verify results.

2.      REQUIRED ONLINE TRAINING – new as of 2015

Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse: Mandated and Permissive Reporting in Pennsylvania (Act 126)

Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse: Mandated and Permissive Reporting in Pennsylvania is an online course that is self-paced (it takes approximately two hours to complete and does not have to be done in one sitting). There are a few questions throughout the course and a short evaluation at the end. This is required for all teaching artists, staff and volunteers.

  • Register at Report Abuse PA and then log in to take the course.
  • When you’ve completed the course, print out the certificate (or print to a pdf file and save it on your computer).

 

Comments are closed